Haa Alifu Atoll

Haa Alifu Atoll – officially referred as Thiladhunmathi Uthuruburi (Northern Thiladhunmathi Atoll) is the northernmost administrative division of the Maldives. As the administrative division known as Haa Alifu it includes Ihavandhippolhu, the northernmost natural atoll of the Maldive archipelago, as well as a section of the larger Thiladhunmathi or Tiladummati Atoll. Thiladhunmathi was divided into its northern and southern divisions on May 21, 1958. The north division was integrated with Ihavandhippolhu forming administratively an new atoll called ha.Alif atoll or Thiladhumathi North.In total Haa Alifu Atoll contains 42 islands, 14 of which are inhabited.At present there are three Tourist resorts in the atoll. North Thiladhunmath is third largest atoll in the Maldives in terms of population and land area. The Atoll being the north tip of the Maldives, it is the closest to Sri Lanka and India.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email